The University of South Bohemia (USB) or Jihočeská Univerzita is a research university focusing mainly on natural sciences, social sciences, and humanities, offering students the opportunity to learn modern scientific approaches. The university comprises eight faculties, which are located both in the historical centre of the town and on the university campus on its western edge. The campus is also the location of student residences, a Rector’s office, and a library.

The Faculty of Science is the successor to the Faculty of Biological Sciences, founded in 1991. The faculty offers undergraduate, graduate and post-graduate study in a number of biological disciplines, and since 2007 research has extended from biology to other fields (chemistry, physics, mathematics, and informatics).